Artist: Randy Thompson
Album: Further On
Year: 2008
Label: Jackpot
Order-#: n.a.

© 2008 / Bruno Michel

Back in 1987, Randy Thompson produced his debut album. It took ten years to present the sophomore CD and yet another six (2004) until the third album hit the streets. Now Thompson introduces his latest, Further On. So the timespans between new releases get shorter Ė and thatís good news. The current production contains ten tracks, thereof eight either self-composed or re-arranged by Thompson.

Raised in Virginia, Thompson had early contacts with Bluegrass music but also with the sounds of Hank Williams while his parents played their entire Williams-collection at home. It must be a thrill to the singer/songwriter that Don Helms, one of Hank Williamsí Drifting Cowboys original members is part of the production.

Talking about re-arranging songs: Would one not know the lyrics to Olí 97 (about the (in)famous trainwreck back in 1903) or to Going Down To Lynchburg Town (first published in 1926), one would not recognize these well known titles. Thompson re-arranged them completely and not for the worse.

He also goes to proof that he is an excellent lead guitar player (on Donít You Remember) and he masters the banjo at the same level that he writes straight and honest lyrics. One of my favorites being Rocksalt & Nails.

Info auf www.randythompson.net

Artist: Randy Thompson
Album: Further On
Year: 2008
Label: Jackpot
Order-#: n.a.

© 2008 / Bruno Michel

1987 brachte Randy Thompson sein Erstlingswerk. Es dauerte zehn Jahre bis die zweite CD erschien und noch einmal sechs bis zur dritten (2004). Jetzt hat er sein neuestes Werk, Further On, vorgestellt, die Zeitabstände zwischen den Erscheinungen werden also kleiner Ė und das ist gut so. Die aktuelle Scheibe beinhaltet zehn Titel, davon acht von Thompson selbstgeschrieben oder völlig umarrangiert.

In Virginia aufgewachsen, kam er früh in Kontakt mit Bluegrass Music, aber auch mit Hank Williams, da seine Eltern die gesamten Werke von Old Hank besassen. Um so erfreulicher muss es für Thompson sein, dass auf der neuen CD Don Helms mitspielt, einer von Hank Williamsí Original Drifting Cowboys.

Apropos umarrangieren: Würde man die Worte zu Olí 97 (über das bekannte Zugunglück im Jahre 1903) oder Going Down To Lynchburg Town (Erstveröffentlichung 1926) nicht kennen, käme man kaum auf die Idee, dass es sich um diese bekannten Titel handelt. Es ist Roots Music vom Feinsten, die Thompson bietet.

Das er auch ein ausgezeichneter Gitarrist ist zeigt er auf Donít You Remember. Das Banjo beherrscht er ebenso gut wie das Schreiben ehrlicher, geradliniger Texte. Einer meiner Favoriten diesbezüglich ist Rocksalt & Nails.

Info auf www.randythompson.net